What I Think About No-Fault Divorce

image

Many states now offer no-fault divorce. In case you aren’t familiar with the term, it means a person can file for divorce and not have any reason or grounds for doing so. I’m not sure who thought that might be a good idea, but it helped raise the divorce statistics in America. We have close to a 50% divorce rate in this country. That grieves me. Children are torn apart by divorce and many times are left to deal with their pain on their own — one or both of the parents delude themselves into believing that children are resilient and will get over it. If that were truly the case, then why are children from divorce four times more likely to divorce than children who are from parents who stayed married?

I’m not saying that divorce should never happen. I, myself, am divorced because I was married to a sociopathic abuser. I divorced my former spouse because my children and I have the right to live free from violence and sexual assault.

I’ve got a burr under my saddle for the people who choose no-fault divorce for their own reasons and sacrifice their spouse and children for the sake of their own desires. Not in love with your spouse anymore? Change it. If you really don’t want to do that, wait until your kids are eighteen, then leave.

Here are my thoughts about no-fault divorce…

In a case where one spouse wants a divorce and one does not, the spouse who wants the divorce should be allowed to have it — but that’s all they should be allowed to have. The spouse being left should maintain the family residence and have custody of the kids. Why is our society so alarmed by the rising divorce rate when we are giving people a free ticket to destroy families? I know so many women who decided they didn’t love their husbands anymore, so they divorced them, took the kids away, were given the family residence, and child support, sometimes even alimony. How does anyone perceive this as right, or moral, or fair?

I’m not saying we need to live in the dark ages and never allow divorce. I just don’t think it should be so easy to destroy our families.

One thought on “What I Think About No-Fault Divorce

  1. robbear13 says:

    You have raised an excellent point. I don’t have any answers. But people do, younger people particularly. They just don’t get married. Sad, but true.

    Blessings and Bear hugs!
    Bears Noting

Leave a Reply

