Kindred Spirits

image

Roget’s Thesaurus gives several synonyms of kindred spirit: alter ego, companion, confidante, friend, heart’s desire, helpmate, kindred soul, lover, one’s promised, partner, soul mate, true love

I think I would add ‘two peas in a pod’ and maybe, in the spirit of Forrest Gump, ‘peas and carrots’.

I never really grasped what it was like to have a soul mate until I met mine. I knew in my previous marriage that we weren’t kindred spirits, but my former spouse mocked the idea of soul mates. I was nothing but a possession, and any allusion to intimacy or partnership was immediately berated by him. I knew my place.

Then God brought Atticus. We spent a long time as companions and best friends as we healed and grew into recovery from bad marriages. Then God brought romantic love into the equation. I truly feel that my husband accentuates the positive in me. We walk a road that is often times quite difficult because of the split families, ex-spouses, health problems, and day-to-day emergencies that arise, but we do it together. Always. The solidarity is such a comfort to me — I know Atticus has my back, and he knows I’ve got his.

Our love is not co-dependent, but inter-dependent. We know we can rely on each other. We are there for each other. Atticus doesn’t just listen, he hears. When I’m hurting, he feels it with me and his arms are the greatest comfort when my heart is bleeding through my eyes. He never complains about tears on his shoulder.

I can’t thank God enough for sending a gentle, compassionate, loving man to me and my children. We all needed tenderness and Atticus brought it to us.

Today I celebrate my kindred spirit. God bless you, Atticus!