Thursday’s Tripe

I read this quote this morning and needed to comment:

“Love comes to those who still hope even though they’ve been disappointed, to those who still believe even though they’ve been betrayed, to those who still love even though they’ve been hurt before.” ~Unknown

A load of tripe. I get tired of reading these ridiculous feel-good quotes. Love will happen if it’s meant to happen, regardless of whether you hope, believe, and love. It bothers me that someone in a position like I was the last 18 years would read this and become completely discouraged thinking they’ll never be loved because they aren’t in a place to hope, believe, or love.

How would I know, right?

If you know me, you’ll know how I’ve felt about love, marriage, and relationships: negative. I built a fortress around my heart to keep people out. I didn’t bother to hope because I knew I’d be disillusioned eventually, wouldn’t put my trust in many people because I didn’t find many who were worthy of it, and because I’d been scarred so deeply, I didn’t want to be in love because I don’t believe it lasts.

Not wanting to become bitter, I gave all of this to my Father and asked Him to hold my heart and nurture it. I figured that was the best place for it to be, and much safer than giving it to any man. Now I know that was the right decision and I believe that if any man ever wants my heart, he’ll have to seek God to find it.

I never thought I knew what love was, so I never trusted what my mind and heart were telling me. I finally realized that I’ve always known what love was…I just lacked the faith in myself to believe it.

That revelation helped me see that I can be loved and I can love in return. And I do. It had nothing to do with hope, belief, or loving. It happened despite not having those things. It happened when I let go and allowed God to do what He desired.

In that healing I’ve learned to hope a little bit, trusting that God has planted those seeds and that He alone will bring them to fruition. I still don’t trust very many people, but the ones I do trust have earned it, and I’ve gained theirs. It’s a great place to be. And loving? Yes, I love and I’m loved in return. It’s remarkable.

I don’t want to end by continuing to harp on the silly quote above, so I’ll leave you with one of my favorites:

“Be the kind of woman who, when your feet hit the floor in the morning, the devil says, “Crap! She’s awake!”

Have a great day and be blessed!

Leave a Reply

