Can My GPS Get Me Out OF This?

We’ve all done it. We get in the car and we’re so consumed with other things that our brains somehow run on auto-pilot and get us to our destination. When we arrive, we wake up and wonder how we got there. It’s kind of scary to realize we’ve been in a brain fog for the entire time it took to travel.

Have you ever been in one of those fogs, ‘come to’ before you reached your destination, and been totally confused because you couldn’t identify where you were? I’ve done it and it took me several heartbeats to get my bearings and realize where I was. I was still on the right path, just didn’t recognize my surroundings at first glance.

However, a few days ago, my ‘auto-pilot’ malfunctioned and when my brain fog lifted, I hadn’t a clue where I was. I didn’t know how to make my way back to the road that would lead me to the end of my journey. Thank God for my GPS. All I had to do was enter my destination because the GPS already knew where I was. It showed me where to turn around, then led me down the roads I needed to take to get back home.

You know where I’m going with this.

I just woke up from a brain fog and realized my life wasn’t on the path it was supposed to be taking. I don’t know when I left the road, or how long I’ve even been traveling this course, but I was stunned, and frightened, to realize I was nowhere near where I needed to be. I’ve been so wrapped up in the day-to-day garbage – you know what I’m talking about – that I lost sight of what is important. I veered off course and completely lost my way.

See, my original destination was an intimate relationship with my Father. I want to know Him and love him so much that he’s my Daddy, not just my Father. I was trying to do it on my own when God brought a friend into my life who helped me see how much I needed church. That was a faith walk for me. I was terrified to be in a church and to feel so vulnerable around people I didn’t know and didn’t trust. I turned down a new road and God blessed me for it because eventually my kids wanted to attend. It was easier when we were all traveling that road together.

Just when we were finally moving in the same direction, life got in the way. Distractions right and left took my focus from the road and before I knew it I’d veered from the straight and narrow onto a very broad highway chock full of things I thought were more important – money, bills, children, friends, work, school, therapists, doctors, illness, worries, emotions…the list was never-ending. I assumed things were okay because I always thought God was riding shotgun, and, therefore, He would keep me from getting lost.

Do you see where I made my mistake? I chose the wrong Navigator. I was relying on myself, with God’s help, to get me to a destination for which I wasn’t even familiar. I needed to get out of the driver’s seat and allow God to steer. He knew the way – I needed to let Him set the course.

Just as my GPS knows my current location and can give me directions home, God knows my heart and He meets me right where I am. He can lead me out of the mess I’m in and set me on the road Home.

So this is where I’m at today. I’ve realized I’m not heading in the direction God wants and I’m never going to find Him continuing down this road. I’ve given up the driver’s seat and asked God to take over. He’s reset my GPS and given me a new direction. The most wonderful thing is that in giving up and letting Him lead, He’s filled me with a joy I cannot explain and a wonderful anticipation to get to know Him as He has always wanted.

My path is clearly stated in Philippians 3:13-14:

13I do not consider, brethren, that I have captured and made it my own [yet]; but one thing I do [it is my one aspiration]: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead,

14I press on toward the goal to win the [supreme and heavenly] prize to which God in Christ Jesus is calling us upward. (AMP)

And now I need to go…my ride is waiting…and we are taking the road less traveled…

2 thoughts on “Can My GPS Get Me Out OF This?

  1. cristinbobee says:

    Sometimes we got so caught up in getting it done we dont stop to see how we got there. I did this for many years.

  2. Christe Smith says:

    Words to live by!! Needed to hear this today – thanks for being the “voice” of God in my ears!!

Leave a Reply

