A Glimpse Into My Daughter’s Heart

Last night when you were very, very sleepy,
You told me things that made you feel uneasy
And you whispered to me secrets many
That no one could ever know.

Last night when you cried into your pillow
And told me you were tired, too tired to continue
All I could do was whisper and assure you
That it would be okay.

And I cried because I said I’d been unfaithful
Too insecure to be the ever helpful
Person to ease the great upheaval
That threatened every life.

But you told me, ‘You are beautiful’.

You said, ‘You are beautiful to me.
I’ve known it from the start, you see
And I promise that I will always believe
That you are beautiful.’

Out of the broken comes the life
I can’t fix this if I tried
It seems now all we do is cry
And beg God for some answer.

I don’t know how to make it right
And I’m running out of ways to fight
Resist the urge to freedom die.
Just make it one more day.

But you told me, ‘You are beautiful’.

You said, ‘You are beautiful to me.
I’ve known it from the start, you see
And I promise that I will always believe
That you are beautiful.’
Words by Aras WRecked…and I’m hoping the music will follow.

She wrote this for me today after I suffered a very difficult night with her by my side. I don’t remember all that I said, but I know my heart was speaking truths I’d never voice in the stark light of day. Sometimes things need to be whispered quietly between two people who understand each other in order to surrender the fears that eat us alive. She’s always been my hero and that will never change…because she is beautiful to me.

Leave a Reply

