Balancing Act

We can look at this and say, “Well, DUH!!” but how many times do we hold on to something that we no longer have or never really possessed? I find myself holding on to parts of my past that I don’t own anymore because I’m afraid to let go and grab a hold of my future. Even when those things from the past are negative and hurtful, sometimes they are just more comfortable than the new.

For quite a while I have felt as if I am balancing right on the edge of my future and if I move one hair forward I will plummet into the unseen depths in front of me. I’m holding fast to the things behind me to keep me from racing forward. The future, the freedom, the possibilities are all still terrifying. I’m letting go slowly. I’m finding my balance. I know I’ll get there. Baby steps.

Leave a Reply

